top of page




Orange County Speedway, known as "the fastest 3/8-mile racetrack in America," is a 3/8-mile (.375) asphalt oval located in Rougemont, NC. Conveniently situated in northeastern Orange County, the speedway is easily accessible from Triad and Research Triangle Park areas of North Carolina, as well as southern Virginia. The current facility is located on the site of the original Trico Motor Speedway, which was built in the early 1960’s as a dirt oval. In 1983, the track was paved and reconfigured to the high-banked asphalt oval that we know today.


The steep 19-degree banking in the wide, sweeping turns allow for multiple racing grooves and some breathtaking excitement for fans and competitors alike. The facility offers modern grandstand seating from turn four, along the front stretch, and in to turn one, which provides for an excellent view of the track from every seat. The turn four VIP tower accommodates 40 people in air-conditioned comfort and gives fans a close-up view of all the exciting turn four action, as well as a fabulous view of the entire track. VIP seating is also available in the main front stretch tower which accommodates 15 people giving fans a bird's eye view of the Start/Finish Line as well as the remainder of the track.

Current Racing Series
For the 2024 racing season, Orange County Speedway will hold competition for five weekly divisions (Late Model, Charger, Pure Stock, MOD-4, Vintage Sportsman, Inex Legend) as well as various touring series including the zMax CARS Tour, SMART Modified Tour, Carolina Pro Late Model and Crate Modified Series, Allison Legacy Series, and VA Mini Cup.

NASCAR Connections
Orange County Speedway was one of the first tracks in the area to have live televised NASCAR Xfinity Series (then called “Busch Grand National Series”) races. Some of the top NASCAR stars of yesterday and today cut their teeth in racing at OCS. Some notable names who have won races at OCS either as weekly series regulars or in NASCAR/ASA touring series are Jimmie Johnson, Bobby Labonte, Todd Bodine, and Jeff and Ward Burton. Dale Jarrett won his first career Xfinity (Busch) Series race at OCS in 1986. Jeff Gordon won his first career Xfinity (Busch) Series Pole at OCS in 1991. Timothy Peters, driver in the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series, was the 2002 and 2003 Late Model Stock Champion at OCS. Some other well-known “local heroes” to have raced at Orange County Speedway include Scott Riggs, Stacey Compton, Greg Davis, Peyton Sellers, Barry Beggarly, Stacy Puryear, and Maurice Hill. 

In addition to the spectacular grassroots racing that the track puts on for fans throughout the race season, Orange County Speedway is committed to serve the local community in any way possible. Other hosted events at the track have included local high school graduations during the COVID-19 pandemic, the Orange County Relay for Life Race for the Cure, Tarheel Rally cross events, bicycle time trials, Boy Scouts Jamborees, and other charity functions.

See You at the Track!
We hope you enjoyed your lap around our website and hope that you’ll be making plans to come see us soon. We appreciate all of our loyal fans and supporters who continue to make Orange County Speedway a fun and welcoming place to enjoy racing with friends and family. 

bottom of page